Bill C-51 can still be stopped

On Friday, May 8th, 2015 in Get Involved

Should Bill C-51 become law before the next federal election, I will fight to make it an election issue and ensure it is repealed by the next Parliament. The bill passed third reading in the House of Commons on May 6, 2015.

I was the first opposition leader and first Member of Parliament to oppose C-51, and have been its most outspoken critic in the House of Commons. The Green Party presented 60 amendments to Bill C-51 during the committee stage, all of which were defeated.

Bill C-51 will not make Canadians safer. It will do the opposite. According to security experts, changing CSIS from an intelligence gathering role into a secret police force empowered to “disrupt threats” could well lead to the kind of interagency confusion that allowed the Air India attack in 1984. The RCMP should disrupt threats, CSIS should gather intelligence, and both need oversight.

Bill C-51 cannot be fixed. It must be repealed in its entirety. I will make this an election issue, and push the Liberal Party and NDP to commit to repealing this dangerous legislation. So far, they have failed to do so.

I encourage all Canadians to continue speaking out against Bill C-51. You can also write your Senator to request they do not vote the bill into law. Particularly, the Senators who sit on the National Security and Defence Committee (contact info below) still have the opportunity to reject each and every clause of C-51:

Chair – Daniel Lang (Conservative – Yukon): daniel.lang@sen.parl.gc.ca
Deputy Chair – Grant Mitchell (Liberal – Alberta): grant.mitchell@sen.parl.gc.ca
Lynn Beyak (Conservative – Ontario) : lynn.beyak@sen.parl.gc.ca
Jean-Guy Dagenais (Conservative – Victoria, Quebec) : jean-guy.dagenais@sen.parl.gc.ca
Joseph A. Day (Liberal – Saint John-Kennebecasis, NB): joseph.day@sen.parl.gc.ca
Colin Kenny (Liberal – Rideau, Ontario): colin.kenny@sen.parl.gc.ca
Thanh Hai Ngo (Conservative – Ontario): thanhhai.ngo@sen.parl.gc.ca
Carolyn Stewart Olsen (Conservative – NB): carolyn.stewartolsen@sen.parl.gc.ca
Vernon White (Conservative – Ontario): vernon.white@sen.parl.gc.ca

Ex-officio:

Claude Carignan (Conservative – Mille Isles, Quebec) : claude.carignan@sen.parl.gc.ca
James Cowan (Liberal – Nova Scotia): james.cowan@sen.parl.gc.ca
Yonah Martin (Conservative – BC): martin@sen.parl.gc.ca
Joan Fraser (Liberal – De Lorimier, Quebec): joan.fraser@sen.parl.gc.ca

I will continue to fight to stop the passage of C-51.

e-m-signature3.jpg

Print this page

Share

How you can help

Follow Me

facebook-icon Facebook Twitter YouTube Digg

eNewsletter


Learn how to support Elizabeth May with her work in Parliament ALT
Green Party Logo

Constituency Office

1-9711 Fourth St
Sidney, BC  V8L 2Y8

Phone: 250-657-2000
800-667-9188
Fax: 250-657-2004

E-mail: elizabeth.may.c1a@parl.gc.ca

Parliament Hill Office

518 Confederation Building
House of Commons
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0A6

Phone: 613-996-1119
Fax: 613-996-0850

E-mail: elizabeth.may@parl.gc.ca

Jobs & Volunteering

Click here for the latest opportunities