Date: 2014/06/16 -- Catégorie(s) : Parlement, Questions au Feuilleton

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, en fait, le comité a adopté un amendement important aux termes duquel les Forces canadiennes ne pourraient plus utiliser des armes à sous-munitions. Toutefois, le projet de loi contient encore trop de dispositions qui affaibliraient l’engagement du Canada à l’égard de la Convention sur les armes à sous-munitions. Ce ...

Date: 2014/06/16 -- Catégorie(s) : Parlement, Questions au Feuilleton

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, ce projet de loi est très important, car il donne au Canada l’occasion de montrer à la communauté des nations que nous sommes toujours déterminés à jouer le rôle que nous avons assumé dans le cadre du processus d’Ottawa concernant les mines antipersonnel, et que, à propos des armes ...

Date: 2014/06/11 -- Catégorie(s) : Parlement, Questions au Feuilleton

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, il est près de 23 h 30, mais les échanges sont pleins de verve. Quand j’entends parler de la théorie économique des retombées, cela me rappelle toujours la remarque savoureuse de John Kenneth Galbraith, qui a dit que si on donne du grain au cheval, les moineaux auront de ...

Date: 2014/06/11 -- Catégorie(s) : Parlement, Questions au Feuilleton

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, l’intervention du ministre ratissait large et portait sur un certain nombre de sujets intéressants, quoique pas tous en lien avec le projet de loi dont nous sommes saisis. Je tiens de mon côté à revenir sur l’un des aspects dont il a parlé. On parle beaucoup des pipelines comme ...

Date: 2014/06/11 -- Catégorie(s) : Parlement, Questions au Feuilleton

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, mon collège a tout à fait raison. Les modalités entourant la FATCA n’ont pas été définies. Les États-Unis n’ont pas ratifié le traité de mise en oeuvre de l’accord intergouvernemental entre les États-Unis et le Canada. Nous agissons comme si nous avions des obligations aux termes d’un traité, mais ...

Date: 2014/06/04 -- Catégorie(s) : Parlement, Questions au Feuilleton

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, la députée a commencé son discours en disant qu’elle représente les gens de Renfrew—Nipissing—Pembroke et qu’elle fait valoir leurs préoccupations. Je suis sûre que bon nombre des électeurs de sa circonscription font partie des catégories de personnes que je vais nommer et qui seraient touchées par la FATCA. Ce ...

Date: 2014/06/04 -- Catégorie(s) : Parlement, Questions au Feuilleton

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, puisque la « loi FATCA » dissimulée dans le projet de loi C-31 exige que les banques scrutent au peigne fin les dossiers de leurs clients, le gouvernement peut-il fournir une estimation des coûts, et de la part de ces coûts qui sera refilée aux clients des banques canadiennes? ...

Date: 2014/06/04 -- Catégorie(s) : Parlement, Questions au Feuilleton

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, je remercie mon collègue et voisin, le député de Victoria, qui vient de prononcer un discours clair et concis au sujet — encore une fois, comme il l’a dit — d’un autre projet de loi budgétaire omnibus regroupant de nombreuses mesures législatives. Malheureusement, cela signifie que des choses aussi ...

Date: 2014/06/04 -- Catégorie(s) : Parlement, Questions au Feuilleton, Uncategorized

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, c’est toujours un moment pénible lorsqu’on impose l’attribution de temps à la Chambre. Cela arrive très fréquemment, nous le savons maintenant. C’est la 69e fois. Autrefois, on recourait très rarement à cette mesure. Lorsqu’il y a débat sur une motion d’attribution de temps, nous finissons par parler du fond ...

Date: 2014/06/02 -- Catégorie(s) : Parlement, Questions au Feuilleton

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, il est rare que nous entendions ici un député ou un parti admettre qu’il a commis une erreur en appuyant une politique et qu’il a constaté l’échec de la politique, à la lumière des données empiriques. Je demande au député de Charlottetown quelle preuve a finalement convaincu — je ...

Comment vous pouvez aider

Suivez moi

facebook-icon Facebook Twitter YouTube Digg

S'inscrire au bulletin


Découvrez comment appuyer Elizabeth May dans son travail au Parlement ALT
Green Party Logo

Bureau de circonscription

1-9711 rue Fourth
Sidney (C.-B.)  V8L 2Y8

Tél: 250-657-2000
800-667-9188
Télec: 250-657-2004

Courriel: elizabeth.may.c1a@parl.gc.ca

Bureau d'Ottawa

518 Confederation
Chambre des communes
Ottawa (ON)  K1A 0A6

Tél: 613-996-1119
Télec: 613-996-0850

Courriel: elizabeth.may@parl.gc.ca

Emplois et Bénévolat

Cliquez ici pour les dernières opportunités

Date: 2014/06/16 -- Category/Categories: Parliament, Questions on the Order Paper

Elizabeth May: Mr. Speaker, there is, in fact, a substantial amendment that was made in committee that would remove the ability of Canadian Forces to use cluster munitions. However, we have still left far too much in that would weaken Canada’s commitment to the cluster munitions treaty. One of the places that I think is ...

Date: 2014/06/16 -- Category/Categories: Parliament, Questions on the Order Paper

Elizabeth May: Mr. Speaker, this is a really important bill, because it is Canada’s opportunity to show the community of nations that we are committed still to our role in the world that we established through the Ottawa process to deal with landmines and that on cluster munitions, we are prepared to implement the treaty, ...

Date: 2014/06/11 -- Category/Categories: Parliament, Questions on the Order Paper

Elizabeth May: Mr. Speaker, there is a spirited exchange in the House tonight as we get near 11:30. I am always reminded, when I hear about trickle-down economics, of John Kenneth Galbraith’s great line that trickle-down economics is feeding the grain to the horse and then there might be something for the sparrows in the ...

Date: 2014/06/11 -- Category/Categories: Parliament, Questions on the Order Paper

Elizabeth May: Mr. Speaker, the hon. minister’s speech ranged widely and interestingly over a number of topics, not necessary confined to the bill before us, but I want to pick up on one of the aspects of the presentation. We talk a lot about pipelines as though they will inevitably create jobs for Canadians, but ...

Date: 2014/06/11 -- Category/Categories: Parliament, Questions on the Order Paper

Elizabeth May: Mr. Speaker, my hon. colleague is absolutely right. The terms around FATCA are not defined. The intergovernmental agreement, the so-called IGA between the U.S. and Canada, has not been ratified as a treaty by the United States. We are treating it as though we have treaty obligations. The U.S. has not ratified it. ...

Date: 2014/06/04 -- Category/Categories: Parliament, Questions on the Order Paper

Elizabeth May: Mr. Speaker, my hon. colleague started her speech by saying she represented the people of Renfrew—Nipissing—Pembroke and was bringing their concerns to the table. This is a list of the people, and I am sure there are many in her riding, who would be affected by FATCA. It is far more than U.S. ...

Date: 2014/06/04 -- Category/Categories: Parliament, Questions on the Order Paper

Elizabeth May: Mr. Speaker, given that the FATCA buried in Bill C-31 requires that the bank search every single customer record with a fine-tooth comb, does the government have any estimates for what that is going to cost and how much of those costs will be passed on to every bank customer across Canada? Scott ...

Date: 2014/06/04 -- Category/Categories: Parliament, Questions on the Order Paper

Elizabeth May: Mr. Speaker, I thank my hon. colleague, the member of Parliament for Victoria, my neighbour, for delivering a clear and concise address to yet again, as he pointed out, another omnibus budget bill that combines many pieces of legislation into one. Unfortunately, that means something as egregious as the Foreign Account Tax Compliance ...

Date: 2014/06/04 -- Category/Categories: Parliament, Questions on the Order Paper, Uncategorized

Elizabeth May: Mr. Speaker, it is always a difficult time when time allocation is raised in this place. It is very frequent, we now know. It is up to 69 times now. This used to be a measure that was taken only very rarely. When we have a debate on time allocation we end up ...

Date: 2014/06/02 -- Category/Categories: Parliament, Questions on the Order Paper

Elizabeth May: Mr. Speaker, it is quite rare that we hear in this place any member of Parliament or an entire political party admitting that they have made a mistake in having supported one policy and have now seen, based on empirical evidence, that the policy has failed. I would like to ask the hon. ...

How you can help

Follow Me

facebook-icon Facebook Twitter YouTube Digg

eNewsletter


Learn how to support Elizabeth May with her work in Parliament ALT
Green Party Logo

Constituency Office

1-9711 Fourth St
Sidney, BC  V8L 2Y8

Phone: 250-657-2000
800-667-9188
Fax: 250-657-2004

E-mail: elizabeth.may.c1a@parl.gc.ca

Parliament Hill Office

518 Confederation Building
House of Commons
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0A6

Phone: 613-996-1119
Fax: 613-996-0850

E-mail: elizabeth.may@parl.gc.ca

Jobs & Volunteering

Click here for the latest opportunities