Elizabeth May says TPP deal is dangerous: “Milk that includes hormones needs to be kept out of Canada”

2015/10/23 -- Catégorie(s) : Communiqués, Publications, PTP

OTTAWA– Elizabeth May, chef du Parti vert (Saanich ― Gulf Islands), publie la déclaration suivante après la nouvelle que le Partenariat transpacifique (PTP) permettrait l’importation de lait contenant des hormones au Canada.

« En 1999, Santé Canada a banni l’hormone de croissance bovine (BSTr), en raison de préoccupations relatives au bien-être des animaux, dont un risque accru de mastite, une infection bactérienne douloureuse qui atteint les mamelles, un risque accru de claudication clinique de 50 % ainsi qu’une durée de vie plus courte pour les vaches. J’ai joué un rôle essentiel quand il s’est agi d’empêcher les hormones de croissance bovine de pénétrer au Canada, en tant que directrice générale du Sierra Club du Canada.

Au Canada, il est encore illégal d’utiliser l’hormone de croissance bovine pour accroître la production de lait, mais le PTP permettrait d’importer du lait contenant cette hormone au Canada. Nous ne savons rien des effets de ces hormones sur les humains; c’est l’une des raisons pour lesquelles l’Europe a déjà banni le BSTr. Le Centre international de recherche sur le cancer craint que le BSTr n’augmente le nombre de cancers chez les humains. Le lait qui contient ces hormones doit rester hors du Canada. »

« Le Parti vert est très préoccupé par la nature foncièrement antidémocratique et non transparente des négociations sur le PTP. À ce stade, le PTP est un accord de principe. Au Parlement, le Parti vert s’efforcera de veiller à ce qu’un débat libre et transparent ait lieu avant tout rejet ou toute ratification de l’accord, » déclare Paul Manly, porte-parole du Parti vert en matière de commerce international.

Print this page

Share

Comment vous pouvez aider

Suivez moi

facebook-icon Facebook Twitter YouTube Digg

S'inscrire au bulletin


Green Party Logo

Bureau de circonscription

1-9711 rue Fourth
Sidney (C.-B.)  V8L 2Y8

Tél: 250-657-2000
800-667-9188
Télec: 250-657-2004

Courriel: elizabeth.may.c1a@parl.gc.ca

Bureau d'Ottawa

518 Confederation
Chambre des communes
Ottawa (ON)  K1A 0A6

Tél: 613-996-1119
Télec: 613-996-0850

Courriel: elizabeth.may@parl.gc.ca

Emplois et Bénévolat

Cliquez ici pour les dernières opportunités

Elizabeth May says TPP deal is dangerous: “Milk that includes hormones needs to be kept out of Canada”

On Friday, October 23rd, 2015 in Press Releases, Publications, TPP

OTTAWA – Elizabeth May, Leader of the Green Party (Saanich-Gulf Islands), released the following statement after news that the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) would allow milk that includes hormones into Canada:

“In 1999, Health Canada banned bovine growth hormones (rBST), because of animal welfare concerns, including an increased risk of mastitis, a painful bacteria inflection that affects the udders, a 50 percent increase risk of clinical lameness, and shorter lifespans for cows. I played a key role in keeping the bovine growth hormone out of Canada as the Executive Director of the Sierra Club of Canada.

“In Canada it is still illegal to use bovine growth hormone to increase milk production, yet the TPP would allow milk with this hormone into Canada. We really do not know the affects of this hormone on humans, which is one of the reasons why Europe has already banned rBST. The International Agency for Research in Cancer has concerns that rBST increases cancer in humans. Milk that includes hormones needs to be kept out of Canada.”

“The Green Party has serious concerns with the fundamentally undemocratic and non-transparent nature of the negotiations surrounding the TPP. At this point, the TPP is an agreement only in principle. The Green Party will work in Parliament to ensure that an open and transparent debate takes place before any vote to reject or ratify the agreement,” said Paul Manly, Green Party International Trade Critic.

Print this page

Share

How you can help

Follow Me

facebook-icon Facebook Twitter YouTube Digg

eNewsletter


Learn how to support Elizabeth May with her work in Parliament ALT
Green Party Logo

Constituency Office

1-9711 Fourth St
Sidney, BC  V8L 2Y8

Phone: 250-657-2000
800-667-9188
Fax: 250-657-2004

E-mail: elizabeth.may.c1a@parl.gc.ca

Parliament Hill Office

518 Confederation Building
House of Commons
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0A6

Phone: 613-996-1119
Fax: 613-996-0850

E-mail: elizabeth.may@parl.gc.ca

Jobs & Volunteering

Click here for the latest opportunities