Elizabeth May votera « non » à la campagne militaire en Irak et en Syrie

(Ottawa) 8 mars, 2016 – Aujourd’hui à la Chambre des communes, Elizabeth May, chef du Parti vert du Canada et députée de Saanich ― Gulf Islands, votera contre la proposition d’appui aux contributions militaires du gouvernement contre Daech (EIIL) en Irak et en Syrie.

« Bien que j’appuie la fin de notre participation directe aux frappes aériennes inefficaces et destructrices, et l’augmentation de l’aide humanitaire et diplomatique pour les quelque 4,6 millions de personnes déplacées par ces conflits, je ne peux appuyer la proposition par laquelle le Canada continue de soutenir une campagne de bombardement en utilisant des avions de ravitaillement canadiens, déclare Mme May.

Nous devons collaborer avec nos partenaires internationaux pour tarir le financement de Daech et conjurer la radicalisation des Canadiens tant au pays qu’à l’étranger. J’attends un débat plus vigoureux sur la contribution du Canada au Moyen-Orient et j’espère que nous pourrons à nouveau assumer fièrement notre responsabilité de nation gardienne de la paix. »

Lisa Barrett, porte-parole du Parti vert en matière des affaires étrangères, rappelle que le Parti vert du Canada croit que le respect des lois internationales et des conventions internationales n’est pas la seule référence de l’activité morale, mais est, en réalité, le fondement d’un monde juste et sécuritaire.

« C’est pourquoi nous nous opposions au bombardement de l’Irak et de la Libye, et nous nous opposons maintenant à toute action du Canada à l’appui de futurs bombardements en Syrie, déclare Mme Barrett.

La loi humanitaire internationale est claire au sens de la Convention de La Haye et de la Convention de Genève, en particulier quant aux principes de distinction et de proportionnalité qui visent à protéger les civils. Le Canada a l’expérience et le talent pour fournir aux parties à cette guerre par procuration le support de proximité aux organismes humanitaires internationaux reconnus comme le Comité international de la Croix-Rouge, de même que de la médiation pour négocier la fin des confits.

Nous pouvons rehausser le rôle autrefois respecté du Canada en dirigeant une diplomatie internationale qui apporte la paix et garde la paix » conclut Mme Barrett.

Lisez la déclaration complète de Mme May à la Chambre des communes ici.

Elizabeth May to vote ‘no’ on military campaign in Iraq, Syria

On Tuesday, March 8th, 2016 in Press Releases
Share

(OTTAWA) March 8, 2016 – Today in the House of Commons, Green Party of Canada Leader Elizabeth May (MP, Saanich-Gulf Islands) will vote against a motion to support the government’s military contributions against Daesh (ISIL) in Iraq and Syria.

“While I support an end to our direct participation in ineffective, destructive air strikes, and an increase in humanitarian and diplomatic aid for some of the 4.6 million people displaced by these conflicts, I cannot support a motion in which Canada continues to prop up a bombing campaign using Canadian refuelers,” Ms. May said.

“We need to work with our international partners to cut off Daesh’s funding and address the radicalization of Canadians at home and abroad. I await a more robust debate on Canada’s contribution to the Middle East region, and hope we can return to our previously proud role as a peacekeeping nation.”

Lisa Barrett, Green Party International Affairs critic, said respect for international law and international conventions is not only the baseline for moral activity but is, in fact, the foundation of a just and secure world.

“This is why we opposed the bombing of Iraq and Libya and now oppose any Canadian role in supporting further bombings of Syria,” Ms. Barrett said.

“International humanitarian law is clear under The Hague and the Geneva Conventions, especially under the principles of distinction and proportionality to protect civilians. Canada has the experience and talent to provide the parties to this proxy war with support on the ground through recognized international humanitarian organizations like the International Committee of the Red Cross, and as mediator to broker an end to the conflicts.

“We can rebuild Canada’s previously respected role by leading with peace-building, peacekeeping, and international diplomacy,” Ms. Barrett concluded.

Watch Ms. May’s full statement in the House of Commons on the fight against Daesh here.

Print this page

  • Shirley McBride

    I have mixed feelings about this. On the one hand it would be nice if Canada could revert to its former role. On the other hand, 9/11 changed everything, because we are not dealing with traditional warfare any more. You dont always know who the enemy is or where the war is…there are acts of terrorism all over. ISIL treatment of prisoners is barbaric, their use of civilians as sheilds, the whole mentality does not lend itself to reason. I do agree their sources of funding need to be disrupted.

How you can help

Follow Me

facebook-icon Facebook Twitter YouTube Digg

eNewsletter


Learn how to support Elizabeth May with her work in Parliament ALT

Island Tides

Island Tides: Another Liberal promise about to be broken on Canada’s navigable waters?
April 27th, 2017

Island Tides: Report from the world’s largest ever gathering of Greens!
April 13th, 2017

Island Tides: What’s in the 2017 budget?
April 7th, 2017

Island Tides: Fake news, propaganda and motion 103
March 2nd, 2017

Dissecting the Prime Minister’s excuses for ditching his promise of fair voting
February 16th, 2017

Latest Blogs

Update on Electoral Reform
December 1st, 2016

COP21 Final Blog – Day 13
December 13th, 2015

COP21 Day 12
December 12th, 2015

COP21 Day 10
December 10th, 2015

COP21 Day 8 – Negotiations move behind closed doors
December 8th, 2015

Green Party Logo

Constituency Office

1-9711 Fourth St
Sidney, BC  V8L 2Y8

Phone: 250-657-2000
800-667-9188
Fax: 250-657-2004

E-mail: elizabeth.may.c1a@parl.gc.ca

Parliament Hill Office

518 Confederation Building
House of Commons
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0A6

Phone: 613-996-1119
Fax: 613-996-0850

E-mail: elizabeth.may@parl.gc.ca

Jobs & Volunteering

Click here for the latest opportunities