Date: 2016/05/05 -- Catégorie(s) : Projet de loi émanant d'un député

(OTTAWA) Le 5 mai 2016 - Elizabeth May, chef du Parti vert du Canada (députée, Saanich-Gulf Islands), a présenté aujourd’hui à la Chambre des communes un projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire qui vise à abolir les peines minimales obligatoires du système de justice criminelle. « Comme nous faisons face à une crise de surpopulation et à ...

Date: 2016/04/15 -- Catégorie(s) : Communiqués

En anglais seulement. Print this page...

Date: 2015/04/14 -- Catégorie(s) : Communiqués

En anglais seulement. Print this page...

Date: 2014/02/11 -- Catégorie(s) : Parlement, Pétitions

Les 41es élections générales Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, j’interviens ce matin pour présenter deux pétitions. La première porte sur l’enquête relative aux appels qui ont été faits en 2011, et que l’on désigne généralement sous le nom d’« appels automatisés ». Cette pétition tombe à point parce que, comme nous le savons, le ...

Date: 2013/05/27 -- Catégorie(s) : Débat

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, je veux revenir à la préoccupation que j’ai exprimée ce soir. En effet, en dépit des bonnes intentions avec lesquelles ce projet de loi a été rédigé pour apaiser les inquiétudes du public, qui me semblent motivées par les manchettes plutôt que par des données empiriques, nous pourrions involontairement ...

Date: 2013/05/27 -- Catégorie(s) : Débat

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, je remercie mon collègue de Vaudreuil-Soulanges. C’était en effet une excellent allocution. Je veux attirer l’attention sur un autre aspect. Nous aurons beau dire que nous voulons régler le problème et que ce problème, ce sont les gens qui sont tenus non criminellement responsables, si la mesure législative adoptée ...

Date: 2013/05/27 -- Catégorie(s) : Débat

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, je crains fort de ne pas en être encore rendue à penser que la mesure législative pourrait faire plus de bien que de mal. J’essaie de voir de quoi il en retourne exactement, en me fondant sur les preuves et les témoignages des spécialistes. L’une des spécialistes dont j’ai ...

Date: 2013/05/27 -- Catégorie(s) : Débat

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, je veux revenir sur certaines observations qui ont été formulées. Il est difficile de se faire une idée lorsque des chiffres contradictoires sont invoqués à la Chambre, et on ne sait pas trop alors sur quelles données il faut se fier. Pour ma part, je fais confiance aux divers ...

Date: 2013/05/27 -- Catégorie(s) : Débat

L’hon. Rob Nicholson : Monsieur le Président, je dirais à ces jeunes, comme je l’ai déjà dit à d’autres jeunes, que la situation n’est pas meilleure qu’au Canada nulle part ailleurs dans le monde. Personne n’est plus juste. Personne n’a des débats plus complets, plus ouverts. Personne n’est plus raisonnable. Notre pays est un modèle de ...

Date: 2013/05/27 -- Catégorie(s) : Débat

Elizabeth May : Monsieur le Président, nous débattons actuellement de la motion d’attribution de temps relative à ce projet de loi, et la majorité conservatrice obtiendra ce qu’elle désire. Pour nous qui sommes dans ce coin-ci, et pour moi qui suis la seule députée de mon parti à la Chambre, chaque attribution de temps signifie ...

Comment vous pouvez aider

Suivez moi

facebook-icon Facebook Twitter YouTube Digg

S'inscrire au bulletin


Découvrez comment appuyer Elizabeth May dans son travail au Parlement ALT
Green Party Logo

Bureau de circonscription

1-9711 rue Fourth
Sidney (C.-B.)  V8L 2Y8

Tél: 250-657-2000
800-667-9188
Télec: 250-657-2004

Courriel: elizabeth.may.c1a@parl.gc.ca

Bureau d'Ottawa

518 Confederation
Chambre des communes
Ottawa (ON)  K1A 0A6

Tél: 613-996-1119
Télec: 613-996-0850

Courriel: elizabeth.may@parl.gc.ca

Emplois et Bénévolat

Cliquez ici pour les dernières opportunités

Date: 2016/05/05 -- Category/Categories: Private Members Bills

(OTTAWA) May 5, 2016 - Elizabeth May, Leader of the Green Party of Canada (MP, Saanich-Gulf Islands), today introduced a private member’s bill in the House of Commons that aims to abolish most mandatory minimums in the criminal justice system. “As we face crises of overcrowding in our prisons and overrepresentation of Indigenous and Black inmates, we need ...

Date: 2016/04/15 -- Category/Categories: Press Releases

(OTTAWA) April 15, 2016 – Elizabeth May welcomes two decisions today by the Supreme Court of Canada that key “tough on crime” measures brought in by the previous Conservative government are unconstitutional. “Today’s ruling serves as a stark reminder that the damage of the Harper years still needs to be fixed,” said Elizabeth May, Leader ...

Date: 2015/04/14 -- Category/Categories: Press Releases

OTTAWA – Elizabeth May, Leader of the Green Party of Canada and Member of Parliament for Saanich – Gulf Islands, issued the following statement concerning this morning’s Supreme Court ruling on mandatory minimum sentences: “The Harper administration has yet again been rebuked for its persistent refusal to create laws compliant with our Constitution. Today’s ruling ...

Date: 2014/02/11 -- Category/Categories: Parliament, Petitions

41st General Elections Elizabeth May: Mr. Speaker, I rise this morning to present two petitions. The first relates to the ongoing investigation of the calls that were made, generally referred to as robocalls, in 2011. It is a timely petition because, as we know, Bill C-23 actually has a good regime. One part of Bill ...

Date: 2013/05/27 -- Category/Categories: Debate

Elizabeth May : Mr. Speaker, I want to return to the concern that I have expressed this evening, that despite good intentions perhaps in the way this legislation is drafted to deal with a concern the public has, which I feel is driven by the headlines as opposed to empirical evidence, we may inadvertently make ...

Date: 2013/05/27 -- Category/Categories: Debate

Elizabeth May: Mr. Speaker, I thank my hon. colleague from Vaudreuil-Soulanges. That was a very fine speech indeed. I want to turn our attention to another piece of this. As much as we can say we want to address the problem and that the problem is the people who are held not criminally responsible, if ...

Date: 2013/05/27 -- Category/Categories: Debate

Elizabeth May : Mr. Speaker, I am afraid that I am not yet at the place where I think this legislation would actually do more good than harm. I am trying to debate that in my own mind, looking at the evidence and the expertise that comes forward. One of the experts to whom I ...

Date: 2013/05/27 -- Category/Categories: Debate

Elizabeth May: Mr. Speaker, I would like to pick up on some of the points that have been made. It is hard when battling statistics are raised in debates and people are left to wonder what the actual state of evidence is. I am persuaded by the various briefs by the Canadian Bar Association, scientists ...

Date: 2013/05/27 -- Category/Categories: Debate

Hon. Rob Nicholson: Mr. Speaker, I would tell those young people, as I have told young people, that it does not get any better anywhere in the world than right here in Canada. Nobody is fairer. Nobody has better, more open debates. Nobody is more reasonable. This country is an example of what the world ...

Date: 2013/05/27 -- Category/Categories: Debate

Elizabeth May: Mr. Speaker, we are now debating time allocation on the bill and the Conservative majority will get the time allocation they want. Whenever there is time allocation, the position I hold being a member of a party with one seat is that those of us in the backbenches over in this corner will ...

How you can help

Follow Me

facebook-icon Facebook Twitter YouTube Digg

eNewsletter


Learn how to support Elizabeth May with her work in Parliament ALT

Latest Blogs

COP21 Final Blog – Day 13
December 13th, 2015

COP21 Day 12
December 12th, 2015

COP21 Day 10
December 10th, 2015

COP21 Day 8 – Negotiations move behind closed doors
December 8th, 2015

COP21 moves to new phase
December 7th, 2015

Green Party Logo

Constituency Office

1-9711 Fourth St
Sidney, BC  V8L 2Y8

Phone: 250-657-2000
800-667-9188
Fax: 250-657-2004

E-mail: elizabeth.may.c1a@parl.gc.ca

Parliament Hill Office

518 Confederation Building
House of Commons
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0A6

Phone: 613-996-1119
Fax: 613-996-0850

E-mail: elizabeth.may@parl.gc.ca