Events Listings

Wednesday June 29

Green New Deal three years on!
Join us to celebrate Green New Deal legislation three years on! Wednesday 29 June 2022: 9am PDT / 12pm EST / 1pm BRT / 5pm BST / 6pm CEST 👉Sign up to join us Three years ago legislative proposals for a Green New Deal took off around the world, in solidarity with growing civil society movements for Green New Deals from Bangladesh to Australia, to El Pacto Verde Europeo to South Korea to Brazil and more. In early 2019, Green New Deal legislation was tabled in the U.S Congress by Congresswoman Alexandra Ocasio-Cortez & Senator Ed Markey; in the UK Parliament, Green MP Caroline Lucas & Labour MP Clive Lewis tabled a Private Members' Bill to enact a 'Green New Deal’; in Canada’s House of Commons, NDP MP Peter Julian tabled Motion M-1, for a made-in-Canada Green New Deal; Green Party leader Adam Bandt MP tabled a motion in Australia and Danielle Obono MP has tabled a Green New Deal Bill for France. Now, lawmakers from around the world will be joined by representatives of some of the movements that have driven the Green New Deal up the political agenda to celebrate, take stock and ask: where next for the Green New Deal? Join the British MP Caroline Lucas, Brazilian Congresswoman Joenia Wapichana, Canadian MP Peter Julian, Deirdre Shelley, Director of Campaigns for the Sunrise Movement, Green New Deal Rising’s Fatima Ibrahim and Farzana Faruk Jhumu from 350 Bangladesh for a live conversation hosted by Asad Rehman, Executive Director of War on Want, to celebrate how far the movement has come and to explore where the next three years could take it. We look forward to celebrating all we have done, and all that is yet to come!  
Find out more >>