Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.


April 20, 2021 @ 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

The Pearson CHANGE CONFERENCE: Webinars April 7-23: Alghabra, Daviau, Guibeault, Poloz, Yussuff, Beatty + 25 others

Pearson Centre
THE CHANGE CONFERENCE: Planning for the Unpredictable Future
Annual Conference 2021- Virtual Dialogue
April 7 – 23; 2021
(Seven days in April, 12 webinars, 30+ experts, Across Canada & Beyond)

Elizabeth will co-moderate a discussion on what is happening in the United States and what we can learn from it, with Will Marshall, President of the Progressive Policy Forum.

Click here to register for this session


More information from the organizers


Headliners include Seamus O’Regan, Stephen Poloz, Debi Daviau, Steven Guilbeault, Omar Alghabra, Jim Carr, Frances Lankin, Hassan Yussuff, Will Marshall, Annamie Paul, Perrin Beatty, Jerry Dias and Julie Miville-Deschene.

We want to invite you to be part of our “Change Conference” that focuses on rebuilding the economy in this era of the rapid change in virtually every part of society that is also significant and unpredictable. Governments and Parliaments are challenged like never before with urgently competing demands that keep changing.

Since April 2020 at Pearson we have hosted top-notch webinars on a broad theme of “Covid & Beyond” and have been able to address economic and social issues that relate to the pandemic and how we need to climb out of it. The numbers: One overarching theme, 40 webinars, over 100 experts including some 15 MP, Ministers and Senators, over 8000 viewers. These webinars are available on our YouTube channel here. The conference builds on an important year and focuses in on what Canada should be focusing on next in re-building the economy.

The conference will open with a discussion with Natural Resources Minister Seamus O’Regan and include representatives of all parties and various experts over the three weeks. Please see the list of topics and confirmed speakers to date, attached. While attendance is free, Sponsorhips are welcome.

Yours sincerely,
Brian Gallant, Sandra Pupatello & JP Gladu

Speakers Include:

– Hon. Seamus O’Regan, Minister of Natural Resources
– Will Marshall, President, Progressive Policy Institute, Washington DC
– Debi Daviau, President, Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
– Hon. Steven Guilbeault, Minister of Canadian Heritage
– Stephen Poloz, Former Governor, Bank of Canada
– Annamie Paul, Leader, Green Party of Canada
– Hon. Omar Alghabra, Minister of Transport
– Hon. Jim Carr, Prime Minister’s Representative for the Prairies
– Karen Vecchio, MP, Deputy House Leader, Official Opposition
– Greg Fergus, Parliamentary Secretary to the President of the Treasury Board
– Senator Frances Lankin, Independent Senators Group
– Hassan Yussuff, President, Canadian Labour Congress
– Senator Julie Miville-Deschene, Independent Senators Group
– Hon. Sergio Marchi, Former MP and Minister
– Hon, Perrin Beatty, President, Canadian Chamber of Commerce
– Scott Marks, Assistant to the General President, IAFF
– Lindsay Mathyssen, MP (NDP)
– Dave Bulmer, President, AMAPCEO
– Ruby Sahota, MP, Chair, Procedure and House Committee, House of Commons
– Sean Strickalnd, Executiive Director Canada’s Building Trades Unions
– Jerry Dias, President, Unifor
– Monique Pauze, MP (Bloc)
– Indira Naidoo-Harris, Associate VP,
– Alexandre Boulerice, MP (NDP)
– Marc-André Leclerc, Former Chief of Staff to Andrew Scheer
– Kathleen Monk. Earnslciffe Strategy Group
– Senator Peter Boehm
– Monika Ille, CEO, APTN
– Scott Simms, Chair, Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage
– James Skongack, VP. Bruce Power
– Dr. Karen Mock, Pearson Centre Board
– Rose Lemay, CEO, Indigenous Reconciliation Board
– Leah Nord, Canadian Chamber of Commerce
– Eleni Bakopanos, Former MP, Montreal


April 20, 2021
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm


The Pearson Centre for Progressive Policy