Les verts rendent publiques leurs objections aux actions antidémocratiques des grands partis

27 janvier 2021

OTTAWA — Les députés du Parti vert tentent de renverser une approche massivement discriminatoire de la période de questions qui a été adoptée tout de suite après les élections de 2019. En raison d’une décision prise à huis clos par les conservateurs, les bloquistes, les néo-démocrates et les libéraux, les députés verts ne pourront jamais poser de questions le mercredi. Comme le premier ministre a désormais pour habitude de répondre à toutes les questions le mercredi, cette exclusion est d’autant plus injuste.

Le 17 janvier 2020, le caucus vert a écrit au président Anthony Rota : « Au cours de la précédente législature, les députés verts se voyaient attribuer plusieurs questions le mercredi de la session de printemps et d’automne. Lors de ces sessions, nous avons fait preuve de décorum et posé des questions de contenu réel au nom de nos électeurs. Nous revenons maintenant dans un nouveau parlement avec plus de députés verts que jamais auparavant… pour constater que nous sommes encore plus désavantagés en n’ayant jamais droit à une seule question du mercredi. »

Le président de la Chambre nous a conseillé de négocier avec les autres parties. Après de multiples tentatives pour négocier au moins une question du mercredi, mais nos demandes polies et persistantes se sont révélées vaines.

Le député Paul Manly (Nanaimo-Ladysmith) explique : « C’est encore plus scandaleux quand on sait que chaque fois qu’un député est exclu de leur parti, comme cela s’est produit la semaine dernière avec un membre des caucus conservateur et libéral, cela tend à réduire le nombre de questions pour les députés verts et pour Jody Wilson-Raybould. Ainsi, en plus de ne jamais avoir une seule question le mercredi, nos possibilités d’en poser les autres jours sont encore plus réduites. »

« Le Parti vert du Canada a reçu presque autant de votes en 2019 que les bloquistes », poursuit M. Manly. Ce n’est qu’en raison de la perversité du scrutin majoritaire à un tour que nous avons trois sièges après avoir été appuyés par près de 1,2 million d’électeurs. Si on fait la moyenne du nombre de votes par parti par rapport au nombre de députés élus, chaque député vert représente 380 000 électeurs alors que les députés libéraux n’en représentent que 38 000 chacun. Refuser aux députés verts la possibilité de poser une seule question le mercredi n’est pas démocratique. Les autres partis ont refusé de dire qui s’oppose à nos droits ou pourquoi. Nous aimerions savoir comment ils peuvent justifier cela. »

# # #

Pour plus d’informations ou pour organiser une entrevue :

Debra Eindiguer

613-240-8921

debra@partivert.ca

Rosie Emery

Attachée de presse

613-562-4916, poste 204

rosie.emery@partivert.ca

Green Party MPs raise concerns with current question period allotment

In a virtual news conference, Green Party parliamentary leader Elizabeth May is joined by party MPs Paul Manly and Jenica Atwin to discuss concerns with what the party is calling the “discriminatory approach” to question period in the House of Commons. They object to a decision that was made by the four other federal parties following the 2019 general election to exclude Green MPs from asking a question on Wednesdays. Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has made it his practice to be the only person to answer questions during Wednesday question periods.

January 27, 2021

OTTAWA — Green Party Members of Parliament have been attempting to un-do a massively discriminatory approach to Question Period that began immediately following the 2019 election. Due to a decision made behind closed doors by the Conservatives, Bloc Quebecois, New Democrats and Liberals, Green Party Members of Parliament are never to be allowed a question on Wednesdays. As the Prime Minister now makes it his practice to answer all questions on Wednesdays, this exclusion is additionally unfair.

On January 17, 2020, the Green Caucus wrote Speaker Anthony Rota, “In the previous parliament Green MPs were allotted multiple Wednesday questions over the course of each Spring and Fall session. During these opportunities we exercised decorum and posed questions of real content on behalf of our constituents and Green voters. We now return to a new parliament with more Green MPs than ever before… only to find that we are to be further disadvantaged by not being allocated a single Wednesday question.”

The Speaker advised negotiating with the other parties. Multiple attempts have been made to engage in discussion and negotiation to allow at least one Wednesday question. Polite and persistent entreaties have been in vain.

Speaking for the caucus MP Paul Manly (Nanaimo-Ladysmith) explained “It is even more outrageous when one considers that every time a member of parliament is turfed from their party, such as happened last week with a member of the Conservative and Liberal caucuses, that tends to result in fewer questions for Green MPs and for Jody Wilson-Raybould. So in addition to never getting a Wednesday question, our opportunities for questions on other days are further diluted.”

Mr. Manly continued, “The Green Party of Canada received nearly as many votes in 2019 as the Bloc Quebecois. Only due to the perversity of First Past the Post, do we have three seats after being supported by nearly 1.2 million voters. If you average the number of votes per party by the number of MP’s elected, each Green MP represents 380,000 voters while each Liberal MP only represents 38,000. To deny Green MPs the chance to pose a single Wednesday question, ever, is undemocratic. The other parties have refused to say who opposes our rights, or why. We would like to know how they can justify this.”

# # #

For more information or to arrange an interview:

Debra Eindiguer

613-240-8921

debra@partivert.ca

Rosie Emery

Attachée de presse

613-562-4916, poste 204

rosie.emery@partivert.ca