Standing Committee on Official Languages (LANG)

The Standing Committee on Official Languages continued its Evaluation of the Roadmap: Improving Programs and Service Distribution this week. On Tuesday, the committee listened to testimonies from la Fédération Franco-ténoise, l’Association des Francophones du Nunavut (website in French only), l’Association des francophones de Terre-Neuve et Labrador (French only), and the Canadian Institute for Research on Linguistic Minorities. NDP MPs Robert Aubin and Dan Harris have been replaced with the MPs Pierre Dionne Labelle and Tyrone Benskin.

Thursday’s meeting followed the same pattern as previous meetings. On the panel for Thursday were representatives from Concordia University, the Regional Association of West Quebecers, the Community Economic Development and Employability Corporation and la Société Nationale de l’Acadie. All the organisations recommended the renewal of the Roadmap.