Those who now oppose Bill C-51

By the time you receive this newsletter, Bill C-51, the so-called “Anti-Terrorism Act,” will likely have become law. It is my hope, and the hope of many more, that the bill is subjected to meaningful amendments.

When I first spoke out about this legislation, I was almost alone. Now concerns are growing and many prominent Canadians are expressing grave doubts. The growing list as we send this newsletter to the printers includes:

Former Prime Ministers:

  • The Right Honourable Joe Clark
  • The Right Honourable Jean Chrétien
  • The Right Honourable John Turner
  • The Right Honourable Paul Martin

Former Justices of the Supreme Court of Canada:

  • The Hon Louise Arbour
  • The Hon Michel Bastarache
  • The Hon Ian Binnie
  • The Hon Claire L’Heureux Dubé
  • The Hon John Major

Legal experts:

  • Professor Craig Forcese, University of Ottawa Law School
  • Professor Kent Roach, University of Toronto Law School

Prominent newspapers:

  • The Globe and Mail
  • The Toronto Star

and the Official Opposition, the New Democratic Party