Congratulations to Thomas Mulcair

The Green Party of Canada sends sincere congratulations to the new Leader of the New Democratic Party, Thomas Mulcair.  “I look forward to working with the new Leader of the Official Opposition in the House of Commons and I congratulate all of the NDP Leadership candidates for their campaign,” said Leader Elizabeth May, Member of Parliament for Saanich-Gulf Islands.

Thomas Mulcair, Brian Topp, Nathan Cullen, Peggy Nash, Paul Dewr, Martin Singh, and Nikki Ashton have been vying to be Leader of the NDP after the sad loss of Jack Layton to cancer in August.

“It is wonderful to have vibrant leadership contests that engage the Canadian people and especially young people.  I have great admiration for all of the candidates and appreciate their willingness to pour their energy into this race,” said May.  “My hope is that the attention this race has received will motivate more people to be informed and engaged in our political process.”

“Many congratulations to Mr. Mulcair on his win.”